e-Learning @ DUT

What is e-learning at the DUT?

e-Learning is when technology is used to support teaching and learning. What may be considered e-learning can take many forms. A training course that is delivered entirely online; a teacher showing students a video within a lesson; live assessment of student’s work online; students using interactive technology such as social media to work together on a project; students using their tablets to access worksheets and course materials off campus are all manifestations of e-learning.

DUT aspires to be a digital University.  To reach this goal DUT has put in place a Learning Management System called the ThinkLearnZone.  The ThinkLearnZone is a virtual classroom where students are able to access course notes, submit assignments, receive announcements, communicate with their lecturers and classmates, and undertake assessments.


CELT e-learning staff
 – contact for assistance with the TLZ

e-Learning Faculty Representatives

Faculty of Accounting and Informatics
Ferina Marimuthu 031 373 5646 FerinaS@dut.ac.za
Prinavin Govender 031 373 5553 Prinaving@dut.ac.za

Faculty of Applied Sciences
John Mellem 031 373 6717 johnm@dut.ac.za

Faculty of Arts and Design
Rosh Sunder 031 373 2507 roshs@dut.ac.za

Faculty of Engineering and Built Environment
Hester Jackson 031 373 2457  hesterj@dut.ac.za
Dan Pienaar 031 373 2318 danp@dut.ac.za

Faculty of Health Sciences
Colette Kell 031 373 2393 colettek@dut.ac.za

Faculty of Management Sciences
Nisha Ramlutchman 031 373 6827 NishaR@dut.ac.za